Meet the Team

Executive Director

Kathryn Lariviere joins the staff after six years of service on the DSA-GC’s Board of Directors where she was distinguished by her work on the Symposium Committee and her leadership in spearheading the 2011 International Education Conference. Kathryn makes her home in Gastonia, NC where she lives with her husband, Mark, daughters, Brianna and Kayleigh and son, Cameron (Ds).

Director of Programming

Terri Leyton began her career with the DSAGC in April 2010 after volunteering on the organization’s Board of Directors where she served on the Executive Committee as Secretary since 2008. Terri and her husband Steve live in Harrisburg, NC with their two children, daughter Kelsey who has Down syndrome and son Tyler.

Director of Education and Community Engagement

Stephanie Hoban Cook brings a wealth of knowledge and experience to this position along with a proven dedication to the DSA-GC and educating children with Down syndrome. Her years on the Board of the DSA-GC, the Planning Committee for the Down Syndrome Education (DSE) Conference in 2010, and her attendance at that DSE conference have given her an incredible knowledge base about children with Ds and how they learn best.

Board of Directors

Officers

President – Laura Schlesing,
(son, William)
president@dsa-gc.org

Vice President -- Michelle Fargen 
(son, Jaeden)
vp@dsa-gc.org

Treasurer - Crystal Garrett
treasurer@dsa-gc.org

Secretary – Sara Weiss
(son, Ben)
secretary@dsa-gc.org

At-Large

Chris Coggins
(daughter, Avery)
chris_coggins@mac.com

Melina (Creel) DeLeon
melina.creel@bankofamerica.com

Brendan Hammeke
(self-advocate)
brendanhammeke@gmail.com

Andrew Spafford
aspafford@financialguide.com

Melissa Thomason
(son, Welles)
mjyow99@yahoo.com

  • 10/18/2014 -- 1st Buddy Walk for Down Syndrome Awareness at UNCC ... Read More
  • 03/09/2015 -- Dash for Down Syndrome Helps CMS Serve Students wi ... Read More
  • 03/01/2016 -- March 19 event to include 1,200 participants for 5 ... Read More
  • Down syndrome Charlotte